Lyford Cay was named after Captain William Lyford Jr., who was awarded the land by Royal Decree from King George III in 1788. The modern history of the island began when Canadian industrialist and thoroughbred horse breeder E. P. Taylor, affectionately known as Eddie, visited Nassau in 1945. He was intrigued by the western end of New Providence island, then patchy dirt roads and Mangrove swamps. Trained as an engineer and a successful developer in Toronto, Taylor had a vision and purchased the 2,800-acre parcel of land from Sir Harold Christie in 1955.
In all, Lyford Cay boasts six dining facilities and eight cocktail and refreshment bars to meet the needs of members and their guests. When business is on the day's agenda, our state-of-the-art in-house conference services can accommodate over 150 people in large or small meeting rooms, both offering full communications services.